top of page

LIfe Soundtrack

Naim Sadeghian

10A

8/31/2014

SOML

Dear Reader,

My name is Naim Sadeghin, I was born in Colombia in 1998 and have moved around a lot inside which has molded me a lot and has been a big part of my life I am like a nomad. Right now I live in Colombia’s coffee region, a place called Manizales.

I write to you today because I have created an album of songs that could be the soundtrack for my life. I have chosen important or repetitive events of my life that could be represented in music. I hope you can connect and understand my life more deeply by listening to songs that I love. I really hope that you can relate to any of these songs that would make me the happiest person to live.

My first song is “Unbound(The Wild Ride)”, by Avenged Sevenfold. First of all this is my favorite song it is very dramatic, which I love, and it is just so well made that the song lifts my soul and lets if fall once it is over. This song talks about life in general and how it has ups and downs and compares it to a ride. The songs name during the writing process was “Disneyland Acid Trip”, which explains the mood of the song. Here is the chorus:

This ride that takes me through life Leads me into darkness but emerges into light No one can ever slow me down I'll stay unbound

This last part is piece of a verse, which is the only part of the song that is accompanied by a choir, where you just feel the power of the phrase:

I never lived in fear I knew I'd die another day I never viewed my life as something... slipping away

The last verse of this song I love because it is sung by a group of little kids which makes it sound very innocent and naïve to what the words are talking about:

There's nothing here to take for granted with each breath that we take the hands of time strip youth from our bodies And we fade memories remain as time goes on

To finish off I think this song shows how well I can accept life difficulties and my love for dramatic music. Plus its heavy metal.

My second song is “Coming Home”, by Avenged Sevenfold (choosing 2 songs from the same band shows how important it is to me). Its funny, I like to listing to this song whenever I reach one of my destinations or just traveling from my mom´s to my father´s house. It is a song plotted in a medieval-ish time and it is about the story this great hero that has done a lot, but eventually he has to go back home.

Live again, All roads end, I'll be coming home. Tend your light, Cause on this night, I'll be coming home.

I have moved a lot and I have more than 1 “home” which makes me love this one phrase of the song: “Home is where the heart is I've been told,” which really talks about home is where you can find love. So this is how I feel in a place where love is shared. Plus it heavy metal.

My last song is called “Scream”, by Dio. Dio was one of the first heavy metal artists that I listened to, and I still enjoy his work a lot. This song talks about a man’s reaction to a vast number of social problems and how they make him want to scream. I can connect to this because first off Dio is not only screaming about problems, but also to things as beautiful as a rising sun. This also shows a social problem where I live because people are taught that metal is Satanic and violent. I believe this song perfectly describes lyrically and music-wise how I feel to certain social problems. Here is a verse that talks about our view on beauty and how worshiped it is:

We bless the beautiful Let us forgive you for your sins These must be holy ones How could we believe they'd let us in

I can see this song playing as a climax of my life. Plus it is heavy metal, I am metal.

I hope this letter could help you understand a little more about me, reader. It would make me the happiest person alive if you liked these songs. In my opinion, music can say a lot about a person’s state of being. “Unbound”, “Coming Home”, and “Scream” all chill-giving-head-banging-sexy songs.

Song Playlist


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page